Scientific Advisor Board

Prof. Gaetano Montelione
Chair of SAB

Gaetano Montelione is a professor and Constellation Chair of Chemistry and Chemical Biologyat Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI). He is an executive member of the International Structural Genomics Organization and has been a consultant on NMR technology and structural biology at a number of pharmaceutical companies including Chiron, Eli Lilly, Novartis and Wyeth-Ayerst. He is the author of more than 330 publications covering research on triple resonance NMR, protein structure analysis, computational methods for automated analysis of NMR data, NMR methods for determining vicinal coupling constants in proteins, and the use of NMR and structural bioinformatics and functional genomics.


Prof. John Hunt

John Hunt is Professor of Biological Sciences at Columbia University, and brings extensive experience in structural biology, molecular biophysics, membrane proteins. and expertise in X-ray crystallography and cryo electron microscopy. Prof. Hunt determined the first X-ray crystal structure of the SecA translocation ATPase, an enzyme that mediates the ATP-driven extrusion of secreted polypeptides through the bacterial plasma membrane. Tother with colleagues at Columbia University, he has developed much of our understanding of the mechanisms of action of integral membrane protein ABC transporters, and determined more than 650 crystal structures of proteins and nucleic acids. He is also the principal inventor of a novel Codon Optimization Metric for protein production in E. coli.


Prof. Masayori Inouye

Masayori Inouye is Distinguished Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, RWJMS, Rutgers University, the founding Takara Chair of Biochemistry, and Member of the National Academy of Sciences. He has extensive experience in molecular biology, biochemistry, membrane protein biology, biotechnology, and microbiology. He has carried out pioneering research in several areas of prokaryotic biology including RNA silencing by micro RNAs (micRNA), structure-function relationships in Histidine Kinases, bacterial toxin-antitoxin growth/death regulating systems, and cold shock adaptation in bacteria. Inouye is the principal inventor of the Single Protein Production (SPP) System for protein production in E coli.


Prof. Robert Powers

Dr. Robert Powers is currently a Professor of Chemistry at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln (UNL), and Director of the Systems Biology and NMR Metabolomics facilities. He has more than 30 years of experience in NMR spectroscopy, structural biology, metabolomics, and drug discovery. Dr. Powers received his BA from Rutgers University in 1984, a Ph.D. in chemistry from Purdue University in 1989, and was a IRTA postdoctoral fellow at NIH. Prior to arriving at UNL in 2003, Dr. Powers was an Associate Director for the Protein NMR group at Wyeth for ten years. Dr. Powers is the Editor-in-Chief of Current Metabolomics, an AAAS fellow, and has written over 140 peer-reviewed manuscripts, 5 book chapters, and is an inventor on 9 patents.


Prof. Thomas Szyperski

Thomas Szypersku is Distinguished professor of Chemistry at University at Buffalo, the State University of New York. He received his Ph.D. from ETH, Zürich in 1992 with Kurt Wüthrich. In 2006 Dr. Szyperski received the Laukien prize for the development of methodology for rapid acquisition of NMR data with high-dimensional spectral information. Dr. Szyperski’s research focuses on development of Bio-NMR methodology, structure determinations of biological macromolecules using NMR spectroscopy, development of NMR-based structural biology in supercooled water, and metabolomics. He co-authored more than 160 publications and is an inventor of nine US patents.